2008: Al Kooper Inducted into Musicians HAll of Fame

Musicians Hall of Fame in Nashville

Nashville, TN − Grammy award winning guitarist, Peter Frampton and country music legend, George Jones announced today the names of those musicians who will be honored at the 2008 Musicians Hall of Fame & Museum Awards Show on October 28, 2008 at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville. The inductees include some of the most esteemed and influential musicians in recording history:

Booker T. and the MGs - Booker T. Jones (organ, piano), Steve Cropper (guitar), Al Jackson (drums) and Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass) Best remembered historically as the studio band for Stax-Volt Records during the 60s, Booker T. and the MGs created the "Memphis Sound" behind the hit recordings by Carla Thomas ("Gee Whiz"), Rufus Thomas ("Walkin' the Dog"), Otis Redding ("Dock of the Bay"), Sam and Dave, among others. The reputation as a band in their own right was established in 1962 with their instrumental hit "Green Onions." On their own Booker T. and the MGs had rhythm and blues hits with "Hip Hug-Her," "Groovin'," "Soul Limbo," and "Time Is Tight."

The Memphis Horns - Wayne Jackson (trumpet) and Andrew Love (tenor saxophone) Famous for their many appearances on Stax Records, they have been called "arguably the greatest soul horn section ever." The Memphis Horns appeared on nearly every recording for Stax − with Isaac Hayes, Otis Redding, Rufus Thomas, Sam and Dave and others − as well as on other releases, including The Doobie Brothers' What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits, U2's Rattle and Hum as well as a few solo records.

Al Kooper - Best known for his striking organ riffs on "Like a Rolling Stone" and his performances with Bob Dylan in concert in the 60s. Kooper was a member of the Blues Project, and formed Blood, Sweat & Tears, culminating in the release of their first album, Child Is Father to the Man. He has played on hundreds of records, including performances with The Rolling Stones, George Harrison, B.B. King, The Who, Jimi Hendrix and innumerable others. He has released approximately 11 albums since 1968 including the best-selling "Super Session" featuring Mike Bloomfield and Stephen Stills. In addition, he discovered the band Lynyrd Skynyrd, and produced their first three albums, including the single, "Sweet Home Alabama" and the iconic "Free Bird".

The Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section - Jimmy Johnson (guitar), Roger Hawkins (drums), David Hood (bass), and Barry Beckett (keyboards) Formed in 1967, the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section is considered one of the finest studio rhythm sections in the world, playing sessions in New York, Nashville, and Muscle Shoals. They became world renown as the musicians, and or producers, on such classics as "Respect" by Aretha Franklin, "Mustang Sally" by Wilson Pickett, "Kodachrome" by Paul Simon, "I'll Take You There" by The Staple Singers, "Old Time Rock and Roll" by Bob Seger, and many others. They have played on over 500 LPs, garnering over 75 gold and platinum LPs.

The Crickets - Jerry Allison (J.I.) (drums), Joe B. Mauldin (bass), Sonny Curtis (guitar/lead vocal) Founded in 1957, the Crickets have influenced virtually every major rock performer in the United States and abroad − from Bruce Springsteen and Bob Dylan to the Rolling Stones and the Beatles (whose name was even Crickets-inspired). Their hits have included some of rock's historical classics, "That'll Be The day," Peggy Sue," "Oh Boy," "Not Fade Away," "Maybe Baby," "It's So Easy," "I Fought The Law" and "More Than I Can Say."

Billy Sherrill (Producer Award) − Record producer and arranger who has been regarded as the defining influence of the countrypolitan sound, Sherrill is famous for his association with a number of country artists including Tammy Wynette, Charlie Rich, Elvis Costello, George Jones, Johnny Paycheck, Tanya Tucker, Johnny Cash, Barbara Mandrell, David Allan Coe, Ray Conniff, Joe Stampley, Charlie Walker, Ray Charles and many others.

Inductees are nominated nationally by the Musicians Union who has a membership of over 90,000 as well as a stellar list of other music industry professionals. Last year's inductees included: The Nashville A-Team, The Blue Moon Boys, The Funk Brothers, The Memphis Boys, The Tennessee Two, and The Wrecking Crew. They were joined in their performances by recording artists Garth Brooks, Brenda Lee, George Jones, Vince Gill, Amy Grant, Peter Frampton, B.J. Thomas, Rodney Crowell, Roger McGuinn, and many others.